How I Got My Vaccine When the State Failed Me

The fine line between obedience and folly

Omar Sharaki
4 min readJul 5, 2021
Photo by Daniel Schludi on Unsplash

While the US is busy vaccinating its way toward proving the world wrong, Germany and other European nations are limping far behind; it seems the tortoise has finally overtaken the hare. And while people in the US are inundated with vaccines and able to get their shots without even leaving their cars, over here in continental Europe, most people are literally hustling to get their jabs.

Until a few days ago, I was not most people. Whether it’s because I’m a foreigner or because the Merkel diamond makes such a reassuring impression, like so many others in Germany, I had placed my faith in the government. As such, I followed the official guidelines and registered myself on my state’s online vaccination platform, and dutifully waited to be called up. In fact, up until 7 June 2021, when vaccination priorities ended, there was really no alternative.

And this didn’t at all seem like a misstep. After all, following guidelines was what garnered Germany praise during the first lockdown. When citizens and residents were told they needed to stay indoors, they took it on the chin and endured, understanding that this was for the best — at least the majority did. And so we complied, since, ultimately, all it takes is one defector for the whole line to break. But…

--

--

Omar Sharaki

Software developer, standup comedian, and guy you wouldn’t mind sitting next to on a plane.